Chewing the novel

I like taking the bus. It allows me to chew over Jonathan, cracking through the hard shell until I get to the real meat of it. I have been trying to place my main character, Jonathan, in relation to the child. I think I am going down the route of him being next door. I have also decided that Jonathan’s feelings for the child will be ambiguous: he will be so convinced about the ‘circle’ of child abuse, that he almost invents his feelings. His abuser, his brother, I have decided to remove from the narratative. Basically, he’s dead.

In other news, I am still trying to think of a new start to ‘Written in the Stars’ so I can send it to the agent that expressed interest at the writers conference. If anyone out there has any tips for begining a novel, please do send them on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

