Busy May

The last week of my life has been spent furiously editing, re-checking and re-writing my dissertation. It was horrible work but it is done, bound and handed in now! Only 4 weeks until I finish my degree and can actually concentrate whole-heartedly on Written in the Stars and Jonathan. I’ll miss university life though. The last three years of my life have been awesome.

I have read through  chapters 4-5-6 of Stars and tweaked bits here and there. I had a minor worry that these chapters were a bit boring. Chapters 1, 2 and 3 were whittled down so much that they were engaging throughout. But I can’t help but wonder that 4, 5 and 6 are a bit dull… especially for a child reader! It’s really hard to gage whether I need to reduce them into one chapter. But it is hard because Stars is written so that each chapter is one day. Any comments?

In the next week I have further Uni essays to write, but I hope to finish 4, 5 and 6 so that I can tick them off on my post-it note of doom and move on to the next. May is a busy month!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy May

  1. It sounds like you think 4 5 and 6 might be dull because not enough happens in them. If there are sections that don’t serve much purpose other than to lead the reader through each uneventful day, perhaps you should cut them, but I think it would be a shame to ruin your chapter-per-day pattern. There’s no rule against having extremely short chapters. One chapter of Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying consists only of the sentence, “My mother is a fish.” I think my wife said there are a few chapters in a row of one of the Twilight books that are blank.
    Your other alternative might be to add events to those days, but better to have short chapters than events that don’t fit. (IMHO)

  2. emmajcooper says:

    Do not stress too much if you believe that some chapters are boring. Not all books are exciting from beginning to end. As long as the tale flows and all you have placed in it are of importance. The reader will enjoy getting through all the finer details to find out how the book concludes.
    My second book is probably not as exciting as the first, but it is quite a lot larger because of the details, or nitty gritty stuff, which could be at times boring but important none the less.
    So as I said, if you believe those details are important, then keep them. One last thing to remember is, how many times have you read the story? As the author, I would say hundreds, so undoubtly it will become boring to you. If you have someone you can trust to give you an honest answer, then let them read it to give you an outsiders observation.

  3. Thank you to both Glen and Emma for your comments, they have really helped! You might have a point Emma about reading it too often, I will give it to someone and seek their opinion. I think that most of the stuff in these chapters are quite important to setting up the exciting bits later on, which was why I was thinking that I shouldn’t cut them. I love the fact about the smallest chapter, Glen! Amazing fact! Perhaps I can look at cutting them down into smaller chapters.

    Thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

