The Curse of the Writer

I haven’t yet posted on Writer’s Block. It’s not something I tend to experience, as a pen and blank page is usually enough to get me going. But lately, I’ve found it really hard to think of short story ideas. I can write short nonsense pieces, prose descriptions and novels, but short stories…? No!

I went to the beach with my pen and notebook. I watched children throw stones into the sea, and groups of friends lounge around pick-nicks and deckchairs. The only thing I managed to write was a short piece on the curse of the writer. So here we are. At least Brighton is such a lovely place that I was quite content to people-watch, even if nothing creative came from it. How do you overcome writer’s block? I’d love to hear!

“Go on then. Play.”
She lifted the lid of the piano and showed the room she was a pianist.

“Go on then. Draw.”
He picked up a pencil and sketched the sky at sunset. He was an artist.

“Go on then. Write.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Curse of the Writer

  1. Ellie says:

    Ooh i have written several posts on overcoming writers block. You can find them under writing suggestions on my blog.

    For all these suggestions. I have only ever felt the need to use them once. Not because ooh look at me, i am such a good writer…more because if I am not in the mood to write, I don’t. If I sit at the computer and the words are coming slowly, I walk away. If I am sat at the computer, and the words are spilling over, I will remain at the computer for as long as it takes to get the words on the page.

    I know this breaks the rules, but I don’t believe in the rules 😉

Leave a Reply

