Writing competitions

I always get a bit writing competition crazy in the summer. Maybe it’s the increased consumption of cider or too much sun, either way, they are a great way to get writing, try something new and get yourself out there! In my travels, I’ve found these three – ones to enter for sure! I have linked the comp names, so click on them for more info!

Author Essentials Short Story competition – giving away a publishing contract and cash prizes for fiction under 1,000 words. I figure even if you don’t win the publishing contract, £100 is a great prize! Closing date 31st July, and open to people overseas.

For Books’ Sake/Pulp Press – for women writing pulp fiction. I don’t tend to write in this genre, but I like a challenge 🙂 Winners published in an anthology and featured on the For Books’ Sake website – a great way to spread your words! Closing date 15th August.

Mslexia Novel Competition – Entry fee a steep £25, but a great way for struggling women writers to get themselves noticed! Judged by agents and a prize of £5,000, I will be entering my novel for sure. Closing date 30th Sept 2011.

Good luck to anyone who fancies a go 🙂 Feel free to leave any others as comments for other writerly peeps!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing competitions

  1. Ellie says:

    Thanks for the info, I will definately be entering the first competition.

Leave a Reply

