Nanowrimo, here I come!

After years of watching nanowrimoers clog up my twitter feed, I have finally decided to join. And why not?! I need motivation to write ‘Before I am Buried’, my new novel, and nanowrimo gives you the support and drive to get the darn thing written already. Procrastination is every writers enemy – whether it is catch-up TV every time you hit a blank, or checking your emails a trillion times a day and actually READING your junk mail – suddenly there seems a hundred different things to do other than actually write.

And why? We love writing, don’t we? Correct, and exactly why I have been procrastinating starting my new novel. I am afraid that once I start, I won’t be able to stop. I will think about it night and day, be consumed by it at work and sacrifice the thing I love the most – sleep – to write the darn thing. And it’s not just that. Am I ready to begin? Have I planned enough? Do I really know my characters inside out? Have I worked out the kinks? No! Not at all! But at the end of it, it doesn’t matter. Nanowrimo is about quantity, getting the thing down on paper and STOP PUTTING IT OFF! All these things are what editing and rewrites are for.

So, 8 days before the start date, I have signed up to Nanowrimo, bought myself a chair for my desk and am busy doing finger exercises. It’s a bit like training for a marathon. How I am going to write 50,000 words in a month with a full time job is beyond me. I guess I will let you know. Good luck guys!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

