Outlining

So, the time is nigh! Nanowrimo officially starts in a few hours and I must say, that is slightly scarier than Halloween.

I started thinking about this novel a few months ago, so my basic idea has been sitting around for a while. As the novel is fantasy though, I am finding it much scarier to plan for than my other novels! I have to create a whole world, with its own rules and twists. I know I have said it before, but my hat goes off to Rowling and Tolkien – whatever you think of their books, the world they created is so rich and involved, you have to ask, where did they begin? How did they keep track?!

I have written a rough bullet-point plan of the major events in my story. I know the beginning, the end and the possibility of a sequel (quite necessary with YA fiction these days, have you noticed?). The middle is a bit of a mystery, but then, that is what I love about writing. You never know where it will take you.

So, my preparation has consisted of a load of thinking & daydreaming on trains, some bullet points, a list of the 5 senses on my bedroom wall (very important things to remember for this novel!), and cleaning my desk of socks/mugs/letters…

It’s time to let the imagination out – nano has begun. Good luck to all of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

