Winner!

Late one night, after powering through the thousands of words I was behind, I finally crossed the finish line in NaNoWriMo 2011. Joys!

Crossing the finish line of NaNo is much like tearing through the red tape of a race. You feel exhausted, overwhelmed at how far you have come and wondering how on earth you can muster the energy to walk home. As all the fellow winners reading this will know, there is a video on the winners page that cheers you as you validate your 50k. I am sure I am not the only one who played that more than once… 😉

So here we are, 30 days later, with over 50k of novel sitting on the desktop. Yes, it is mostly crap. But the bones are there, even if they are a bit gnarled by the panic of week 2. The quality is something for January to worry about. Luckily, my novel isn’t finished yet. Because my evenings are feeling rather empty without a word counter and a crazy goal to reach before I allow myself food. I finished NaNo just as the climax was beginning. I have no idea how long the rest of the novel is going to go on for – the characters have to kill four ‘people’ before the resolution. I have set myself the unrealistic task of completing it before Christmas… We’ll see about that!

Well done to everyone who finished! Go play that winners video again and buy yourself a cake – you deserve it 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winner!

  1. Cake? Why didn’t I think of cake, because that would have been perfect!

    Congrats on finishing and good luck in the following months with continued writing and/or editing!

    • There is still time to get cake! I might just get another and celebrate a week since NaNo finished. There is always cause for more cake 🙂

      Congrats to you, too! Luck for December and January!

  2. jossiemarie says:

    LOL I too played it over and over, I finished day 17, and was amazed as I’d been certain I’d have been pulling my hair out on the final day desperately scrabbling to get it done. Well done you and yay everyone who took part winner or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

