The importance of a good blurb

I’ve been lucky enough to work in publishing for nearly three years now, and I’ve seen all manner of manuscripts submitted for traditional and self-publishing packages. One thing I’ve noticed across the board, is how the synopsis and blurb are often rushed. A synopsis is crucial if you want your submission to be taken seriously. And who is really going to buy your book if your blurb has spelling mistakes, poor syntax and gives away the ending? (It sounds crazy, but I’ve seen it done!)

I know I’m one to talk, as synopsis writing is the bane of my life. It’s so difficult to squish your lovely finished novel onto one page. With help from my fellow team over at CompletelyNovel, I’ve crafted a series of tips on how to go about writing a blurb. Find it here, on the ALLi blog (who are an amazing organisation, of you’re an indie author!) I hope they help!

Also, come see me at CompletelyNovel! I’m still learning the ins and outs, but the service is one of the best self-publishing platforms I’ve seen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

