Taking the plunge

After eleven years of wanting to write for a living (and actually carving a career in publishing instead), I’m taking some time out to work on my book.

Cm_rQheXYAA4Wcs

My new office/shed.

Where I’m at now

I wrote a draft of ‘The Proof of the Outside’ between 2014-15 and decided that it wasn’t what I wanted it to be. Yes – okay – it was crap. So I started again, from scratch, and discovered that my lead character, Ele, was a feisty little so-and-so with a really weird, striking voice.

With the help from writing friends at the AWW/Creative Writing Programme, I completed my first REAL draft last month. And – with the help of YALC – completely changed the concept behind it immediately afterwards.

Now, finally, I feel I’m on to something.

Taking the plunge

I’m determined to make this novel the novel. The one that will kick-start my life as a YA writer. The one that will actually be read by real, actual people.

So yes – for a little while, writing is my job. And yes – this is both scary and awesome at the same time.

So I don’t starve, I’m also doing some freelance work on the side – fundraising for charities (don’t you just love a good Arts Council application!), as well as copywriting and events management for some wonderful writing associations. I’ve added a bit more about what kind of projects you might want to hire me for on my blog, here.

Let’s do this thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

