Shortlisted for Mslexia’s Children’s Novel Competition

mslexiaA weird thing happened in October. I opened an email from Mslexia, fully expecting it to say that I hadn’t got anywhere close to winning their Children’s Novel Competition. I mean – I’m a writer – I’m used to rejection. Strangely though, it told me that I’d been longlisted.

Well bloody hell.

Stranger still – they’ve now gone and bumped me up to the shortlist.

To be honest, I’m not sure what to say. Followers of my blog will know that I’ve been working towards being a ‘writer’ for over ten years now. It’s shaped my entire career, had me writing into the wee hours and reading every YA book I could put my hands on. And now? I have a book I think could really be something, and a bunch of mega-judges backing that up. It almost feels like the impossible dream might not be so impossible anymore.

So – I guess it’s time. One more round of edits and then I’ll start sending it out. Like I said – bloody hell.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

